2011-02: Welcome Ryoko Oono, New Postdoc Research Assoc

February 2011 – Welcome, Ryoko Oono, New Postdoctoral Research Associate

Welcome to our new Postdoctoral Researcher, Ryoko Oono! She is joining our lab as a result of obtaining a postdoctoral fellowship through Duke’s Molecular Mycology and Pathogenesis Training Program (MMPTP). Her time will be divided between the Lutzoni lab and the lab of Ignazio Carbone (Department of Plant Pathology, North Carolina State University), and her work will focus on the biology of fungal endophytes.

2012-06: Tami McDonald recipient of 2012 Harold Sanford Perry Prize.

June 2012 – Tami McDonald is the recipient of the 2012 Harold Sanford Perry Prize!

Tami Mcdonald was awarded the 2012 Harold Sanford Perry Prize for the best Ph.D. thesis research in Plant Sciences, Department of Biology, Duke University. Among all candidates competing for this award, Tami’s doctoral research stood out: 1) by being developed independently, 2) in addressing key questions in genomics, evolutionary biology, and botany, and 3) by being high on the impact index.Congratulations Tami!!

2012-08: Welcome, Edgar Medina.

August 2012 – Welcome, Edgar Medina.

Edgar Medina is a new Ph.D. student in our lab. He was admitted through the University Program in Genetics and Genomics. As part of his admission at Duke, he was awarded the International Chancellor’s Award. He is also the co-author of an article that will soon be published in the journal Science. Congratulations Edgar!!